24 November: Horse radish sauce with soy stripes

The winter has arrived in Sweden and I think most of the country is covered in snow today. This weekend is the 1st Advent and it is tradition in Sweden to invite friends over for glögg, gingerbread cookies and saffron buns. Thankfully we are invited to other people this year so we don’t have to bake this weekend. Now it is only a week left of Vegan MoFo and to be honest my ideas for dinner everyday is starting to run out, it is hard to just cook traditional food. Normally we don’t eat this much TVP as we have this month but I’ve tried to keep the recipes as close as the originals as I could, This sauce is one of my fathers favourites, he likes it with a bratwurst type sausage instead of with brisket that is more common. Well since both bratwurst and briskets are out of the picture, I chose TVP, mostly because I didn’t have time for making sausages. But if you got some nice vegan bratwurst, please feel free to skip the TVP.

Horse radish sauce with soy stripes
1 cup TVP chunks/stripes

1 tbsp margarine
1 tbsp flour
1 cup soy milk
1/2 cup vegetable broth (I use the broth I cooked the TVP in)
1-2 tbsp grated horse radish (depending on how strong you like it)

Boil the TVP according to the packet, use vegetable broth to get less soy flavor. When done press out as much liquid as you can from the TVP.
In a sauce pan melt the butter and whisk in the flour to a paste. Add the milk, broth and horse radish. Let it simmer for 10 min so the flour taste goes away. Add the TVP and let it simmer for another 5 min. Taste with salt.

Serve with potatoes and a nice salad, or as we do, with some green peas.

2 comments

  1. söndagsstek
    blodpudding
    sill!

    maybe you’ve already wrote something about this, but I can’t remember it all and I’m to high on coffee to check. I might be back with some more ideas!

  2. Mo

    I’ve never had horseradish sauce, but I am super intrigued now!

Leave a Reply

