Survey time! Nr 1 (Susann)

What is one food you thought you’d miss when you went vegan, but don’t?

Chicken. Chicken was actually the first thing I stooped eating because of  a horrible documentary I saw about an animal factory. I guess I didn’t miss it at first because I was so disgusted but when I years later discovered seitan, BLISS!

What is a food or dish you wouldn’t touch as a child, but enjoy now?

Peasoup, I was pretty picky with my food as a child. But I always loved the pancakes!

What vegan dish or food you feel like you “should” like, but don’t?

Tempeh, I’m really trying! And I have had tasty tempeh at restaurants and even at friends but when I make it myself. Eww… We are actually thinking of trying to make our own some day, we heard that if it’s fresh the flavour is a little milder.

What beverage do you consume the most of on any given day?

Tap water. Maybe we are lucky ’cause our tap water beats any kind of beverage. I remember visiting Seattle once, I couldn’t even brush my teeth in it…

What dish are your “famous” for making or bringing to gatherings?

I don’t have one, I have many 🙂 I totally depends on the theme and time of year. It’s always nice to seasonal. But I guess potato salad is always appreciated. Thick Dijon dressing (just whisk it with oil ’til it’s as strong as you wish), capers, fresh thyme, potatoes, red onions and apples.

Do you have any self-imposed food rules (like no food touching on the
plate or no nuts in sweets)?

I’m not sure. But I always decorate the plate and tend to serve smaller (restaurant like) portions, but I think it’s better to take seconds than have an over crowded plate.

What’s one food or dish you tend to eat too much of when you have it
in your home?

Bbq baked tofu from (vegan with a vengence). Or if we’re talking candy? Salty licorice!

What ingredient or food do you prefer to make yourself despite it
being widely available prepackaged?

Beans, they are so easy to make and it’s really handy to have some in the freezer. Plus it’s a lot cheaper too. I can’t really stand tinned beans they’re usually overcooked and slimy. But I do like Heinz white beans for our occasional full English breakfast.

What ingredient or food is worth spending the extra money to get “the
good stuff”?

Tofu, we do have a super cheap one which you can get in asian food stores. But it’s not really good for baking. Our cheese cake for instance. So once in a while we get the fancy kind but it’s almost 3 times more expensive…

Are you much of a snacker? What are your favorite snacks?

Potatochips, but I really like mini nories too!

What are your favorite vegan pizza toppings?

Pesto, and pepperoni. Maybe not at the same time. Pesto is nice becauce sometimes vegan cheese can be hard to get hold of here, and the pesto keeps the pizza from getting dry. I make a pretty tasty pesto with just roasted sunflower seeds, basil, oliv oil, garlic and seasalt. Yum yum. We had a really tasty pesto pizza in Eugene OR once with pesto, red potoatoes and pears. Excellent!

What is your favorite vegetable? Fruit?

Brusselsprouts and banana. Sprouts for roasting and banana for frying or making banana dosas from the Rasa cockbook.

What is the best salad dressing?

Goddess dressing! Soo good! (a tahini based dressing) I make a pretty good version myself now. My friend makes the best salad ever! Greens from the garden, nuts, brewers yeast and goddess dressing. Wonderful!

What is your favorite thing to put on toasted bread?

Margarine. Keepin’ it simply. Sometimes a little jam on top.

What kind of soup do you most often turn to on a chilly day or when
you aren’t feeling your best?

A hot miso soup with loads of veggies, noodles and fried tofu cubes (from one of the wagamama cookbooks, really good ones, check them out!).

What is your favorite cupcake flavor? Frosting flavor?

Chocolate all together and with a strawberry on top! But I did make a tasty one this summer with sunflower seeds, cardamom and plain margarine/sugar frosting and a raspberry on top.

What is your favorite kind of cookie?

Oatmeal and nuts.

What is your most-loved “weeknight meal”?

Bbq tofu with mashed potatoes and baked brusselsprouts (from veganomincon)

What is one dish or food you enjoy, but can’t get anyone else in your
household to eat?

Brown beans, at least they he doesn’t enjoy it.

How long, in total, do you spend in the kitchen on an average day?

About an hour. But I do have some really fast dishes that takes about 20 min. Great if your tired or in a hurry.

Leave a Reply

