Caribbean cooking

I’ve always been interested in the west indies and have looked for a good cookbook for a long time. Rather recently I bought Taymer Mason‘s book Caribbean Vegan and it was the missing link for me. Today I did the first recipe from the book, Bajan “beef” stew, a flavorful dish with heat. I reduced the habaneros for the spice paste to just one since we aren’t that used to the heat and next time I’ll not use as much water. Probably the cooking liquid is different depending on the TVP you use. I was thinking of serving it with the pigeon rice from the book but I was short of time so I winged it a bit on the rice department. Well it tasted good so I’m happy!

Leave a Reply

